Common Core State Standards

Common Core State Standards and MVSD

More about the Common Core

The States

Forty-five states, the District of Columbia, four territories, and the Department of Defense Education Activity have adopted the Common Core State Standards.

The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are a set of educational standards created in partnership with the National Governors Association and the Council of Chief State School Officers. In July 2010, the state of NH adopted the Common Core State Standards and embedded them in the NH College and Career Ready Standards.

The purpose of the standards is to create a roadmap for all teachers of what students should know and be able to do. The standards are crafted in a clear progression of knowledge and skills that build from kindergarten through high school. MVSD uses the CCSS as the foundation of our curriculum in english language arts and mathematics.

For more information about the Common Core click here

Students in MVSD will be tested on the CCSS beginning in the spring of 2015. Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium is developing the assessments MVSD will be using.

For more information about Smarter Balanced testing click here

Curious about the standards? Here are some helpful links:

Key Points in English Language Arts - Literacy Standards: click here

Key Points in Mathematical Standards: click here

The Standards: click here

For information about CCSS in New Hampshire: click here